Is It Weird?

I’ve always been slightly interested in true crime. I’ve read a few books. I’ve watched documentaries here and there.

But I’ve noticed my interest in true crime has increased. I’m reading more books and have even joined a few online groups discussing true crime.

I’ve been looking at the forums on Web Sleuth, a website of amateur sleuths trying to solve cases, and even thought to myself, What if I could help solve cases?

And it’s not just true crime. I’ve taken to reading books about grief. Books about death and dying.

Are these sudden increases because my mom passed away?

Is this somehow a method of coping?

Is it in some way helping me to heal?

I don’t know. Maybe it’s all of the above.

Is it weird, or has anyone experienced an increased interest after someone passed away?

7 thoughts on “Is It Weird?

  1. It’s not weird, it’s all part of the process. Crimes generally lead to a life changing grief that requires the survivors to cope and thrive after the aftermath. Also, this may indicate a need for the closure of loss…something crimes often have at the solving, but that we are left without an answer for in most cases of loss like yours. An attempt to resolve the unresolvable by focusing on the solved and solvable. All healthy mental processes in the attempt to move forward from grief. Stay strong friend, and keep pushing. ❤ 🐉

    Like

  2. I can’t say that I developed any new interests. When my father died of MRSA, I decided that when one of the researchers who was studying that particular bacteria asked me to join her lab I said yes without hesitation. I think that if the circumstances of his death had been different, I probably wouldn’t have gone in that direction. Whatever helps you cope and grieve is a good thing – even if it is True Crime….

    Like

  3. If it’s help for you, then go for it. It could very well help you cope AND help you heal.
    And, plus, you would be helping people as you have an understanding of what they are going through. The sudden unexpected loss of a loved one is difficult no matter how they died. And often the complete “why” is never answered. So that you could be of help would be wonderful.
    When we help others, we always grow as human beings and help ourselves, too.
    (((HUGS))) ❤️❤️

    Like

Leave a comment