Three Months

It’s been three months since my mom passed away, and we are in 2024 now. 

How can I be in the New Year without my mom? It doesn’t feel right. 

I still have times when I tear up or cry. It’s not every day. Last night and midnight on New Year’s, when I was outside to watch the fireworks, were emotional for me. 

I think about my mom every day.

Mr. Monk’s Last Case premiered on Peacock last month. I remember telling my mom about the movie in early summer. They didn’t have an air date for it yet. But she was looking forward to it. She loved Monk. I love it, too. 

I watched the movie. I liked it a lot. But I was sad because I couldn’t talk to her about it.

There is this show called The Way Home

It’s a Hallmark series about a girl traveling back in time. 

My mom absolutely loved that show. I watched it, too, and it is a good show. We’d watch the new episode each week and discuss it afterward.

All she did was talk about the show after the first season ended. She kept saying she couldn’t wait for season two.

Season two premieres this month on my birthday, January 21st.

I want to watch it. But it’s going to be hard. It was our show. And she is no longer here to discuss it with me.

For a long time now, all I wanted for the holidays was to spend them with my mom and Victor. And all these years we’ve been in Texas. We’ve spent the holidays with his family.

I feel like I missed out on memories with my mom. And Victor missed out on the chance to know her.

I’m an adult, and I know it is okay that I have been living my life. Children grow up, and they leave. It’s normal. It’s what’s supposed to happen.

But I wanted my mom to be more included in our life. Not in an interference way like his family is, but spending holidays together. Going places together sometimes. Maybe even vacations.

And there is no chance of that now. It bothers me quite a bit. 

I wish things were different. I wish my mom were still here.

9 thoughts on “Three Months

  1. Hugs Eden. My mother loved to go to resale shops – even now when I find something especially nice I’ll think I need to show this to her… But I like to think she does see it and approves of my thriftiness and astute bargain hunting skills!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Everything you are feeling and thinking is normal. The loss, the grieving process…everything is so difficult and painful. 😦 I’m so sorry you are having to experience all of this. 😦
    The things you enjoyed and shared with your mom, the things you two did together, the thinks she liked, etc., will always bring her to your mind and tug on your heart.
    Continued prayers and (((HUGS)))) for you. ❤️
    Keep writing about her, we are hear to listen when you want to share. We care.
    ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. *hugs*

    I read something once where the writer described grieving for someone as not just about them being gone but as grieving for all the things they would never do now and the experiences you would never have with them in their absence.

    My aunt died at Christmas 10 years ago now and I still feel that way, like I wish I could ask her opinion on things happening in the world, or find out what she’s been reading…

    Losing people sucks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment