Waiting For Progress

I am still in the process of getting my mother’s estate settled. I’m working with an attorney, ensuring he gets the papers he needs. I recently signed a paper for him to file with the court for him to become head of the estate. He needs papers signed by my brother’s ex-wife since the grandchildren will receive money from my mother’s estate as well.

Because of the cold weather there, one of the pipes burst in the basement of my mother’s home. My friend wasn’t in Pennsylvania to do anything about it. I was able to get my mom’s friend – who was her roommate when she passed away – to shut the water off. He’s doing his best to clean up.

The attorney called me yesterday. He wants to get the auctioneer out there to weatherize the house. I also told him that the mortgage was not being paid. It sounds like he will call the mortgage company sometime next week.

It’s close to four months since my mom passed away. That’s not a long time at all, but it is when it comes to bills. I feel a desperate need for this to move along. No one can pay for repairs to the house or bills.

Victor and I are getting by. We don’t go on vacations. The furthest I’ve been away from San Antonio is Corpus Christi, and we only stayed there for a night. Corpus is around two hours away. It’s about two years since I was last there. The most we do is go to the movies. Or a concert here and there.

I contacted my cousin about what happened when I wasn’t sure if my mom’s friend would shut the water off. She knows the whole situation. I told her that I need help with everything. I am overwhelmed.

She told me that she understood. Her father passed away when she was 25, and she had to go to South Carolina to take care of his estate. She went through a probate judge. She didn’t use a lawyer.

My cousin was 25 in 1996. Things were cheaper in the 90s; travel was cheaper. And while South Carolina is still a bit of a drive, it is closer to Pennsylvania than Texas is.

I am 1,675 miles from Pennsylvania.

Not long after my mom passed away, my cousin called me. She had told me if I needed someone to get papers and other things, just let her know. She said to call her if I ever needed to talk. She told me that I was not alone.

And I feel more alone than I ever have in my life.

I don’t like to ask for help. But I did because I am overwhelmed. I am in over my head. And I felt like I was told no.

I’m not trying to villainize my family; I’m not trying to bash them. I wish the support was there to help with this since I can’t be in Pennsylvania. I wish I wasn’t alone.

I have been praying every day for things to move faster and for the attorney to be appointed head of my mom’s estate. I hope there is more progress soon.

11 thoughts on “Waiting For Progress

  1. Well no wonder it has been so long since we have heard from you! ❤ I wish I was in a real position to assist, because when I give my word I stay true, and I would love to do anything to remove this burden from you so you can focus on your active home and healing. SanAn huh? Gosh I hated that segregated, anti-creative, cliquish town. So many many horrible memories there. Lived there for about 8 years when my son was little little and also hated the constant battle with the standardized test-focused schools. The closest I got to comfortable down there was when I moved to the Helotes area….but then you're a devils long distance from everything else…like work. I digress in the hopes of relieving your stress, but if you boil it all down –I'm saying all this to relate because I can't give you a hug as a friend of love. ❤ 🐉 *may this process of pipes and paperwork soon be in your rearview.*

    Liked by 1 person

    • I appreciate that. The help I need would be financial because I don’t have the money to pay for anything. And that’s why the attorney suggested trying to become head of my mom’s estate.

      San Antonio is okay. I loved it when I lived here the first time, but I was only here for a year. I moved back in 2019. I think in June will be 5 years. And the love I felt for this place has faded. The politics are crazy here. I don’t like having to be around certain people here. I would much rather my boyfriend and I live in Pennsylvania, but I don’t think he’d go for it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Eden this is a mess! It took almost a year to get my mother’s stuff settled and there was no real estate or car or personal belongings of any consequence. The lawyer should be a big help! Hugs to you and I’ll be praying that things improve rapidly!!! 🙏💔

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about all of this! It IS overwhelming! 😦
    I hope and pray the attorney will be a great help. And others you’ve reached out to, who could step in and help, will do so. Hoping you see great progress soon.
    It took over a year for us to get everything dealt with after my MIL died. None of it seemed to be easy at all…not one bit. 😦
    (((HUGS))) ❤️❤️❤️

    Like

Leave a comment