Back Into Hiding

I am in the living room on my laptop writing this post. 

I couldn’t do this with Victor’s mom here. We’ve been watching TV and eating dinner in our living room. It’s been nice and peaceful. 

I don’t have to hurry in the kitchen whenever I make breakfast or lunch. We don’t have interruptions.

We are alone. And it is wonderful. 

But I’ll be retreating to our bedroom next week and closing the door. Victor’s youngest son will be here on Spring break. I wasn’t asked if it was okay. I was just told what was going to happen, like always.

Victor’s ex-girlfriend decides she wants Victor to take him other than every other weekend, and he gives in. It’s probably because if he doesn’t, she throws a fit and says he is a bad father. 

The other weekend, when we visited his dad, his stepmom was talking to me. She told me that Victor told his dad his youngest son wanted to live with him. I was honest and said I didn’t want his son living with us. She told me to talk to Victor; and tell him what I want.

I should be able to tell him no, that’s not what I want, and that ends it. His mom hasn’t even been gone for two weeks yet. And it already feels like another person is trying to push their way into our life.

Victor has said he won’t have to pay child support anymore if his son lives with us. That is true. He pays $200 something a month. But taking his son means he’ll be responsible for everything, just like with his mom. And with how much it costs to raise a kid nowadays, getting $200 something from the mother isn’t going to help. 

Victor would put us in another permanent situation where we are not living alone.

I should be able to say no, and that’s the end. But I don’t know if that’s how it would go.

It’s not set in stone. I haven’t been told it is happening for definite. But I would like to prevent it.

How do you tell someone you don’t want them to move their kid in?

When I moved here the first time, Victor’s friend and her kid lived with us. Victor’s mom lived with us for nearly three years. Why am I supposed to be okay with giving up many more years of our life?

I miss my mom. I need her advice for this situation.

2 thoughts on “Back Into Hiding

  1. Please talk to him about this. I would want to know my husband’s expectations for me in a situation like that. Because I could see how much it would change your life and probably not in a positive way.

    Like

  2. I so so SO glad things are better right now! And that you can feel like your home is your home to enjoy! ❤️

    You SHOULD have a say in such a huge undertaking as having a child come and live with you two. You should be able to share your feelings with Victor and have input. You should NOT just be expected to become “babysitter” or “mom” without your consent. And you do need to know in what ways this will change your life before anything happens.
    Yes, do talk to him. Share your feelings, concerns, what you are willing to do, not do, what rules and expections will be set for the boy if he comes to live with you two, etc.
    (((HUGS))), prayers, and ❤️

    Like

Leave a comment