Six Months

It’s been six months since my mom passed away. How can it be half a year since she has been gone? And yet, it doesn’t feel long at all.

Reality feels like a nightmare.

Over two weeks ago, I had anxiety one night before bed. I woke up not feeling well with a bunch of symptoms. It is slowly getting better, but it has been scary dealing with this without my mom. 

It’s crazy what grief, anxiety, and panic can do. 

On Easter Day, I went with Victor to his family’s cookout. Before we left, he told me he was sorry that my family was gone. But I have a family here that loves me and accepts me. It made me emotional, and his family has been kind to me, but I still don’t feel like they are my family.

I get invited to their homes for holidays and such. But there is more to family than that. Family are people who love you, care about you, support you, and are there for you.

In my grief, my own family has not been that. And neither has Victor’s family. No one in my or his family reaches out to check on me.

I know he was trying to make me feel better. 

One thing I say to Victor is that I see a lot, but I don’t say a lot. 

I see a lot of things with his family. His dad’s side is not as bad as his mom’s side of the family, but there are still a lot of comments made to make Victor feel worthless.

His dad did it once to me, too. And it was over a stupid thing. 

We stayed at his dad’s house in 2021 when it snowed. We were without power at our place for four or five days. One morning, during breakfast, I was asked if I wanted coffee. I said no because I don’t like coffee. His dad said, “Well, at least my son drinks coffee.” And acted like it was a horrible thing because I don’t.

Another time, we were visiting, and Victor was in the bathroom; his dad was talking to me. He told me he made sure his daughter (Victor’s half-sister) knew Spanish. He talked down about Victor not knowing Spanish and called him a coconut. 

For those who don’t know, coconut is an insult, meaning a person is brown on the outside but white on the inside.

On Easter, we brought Calcifer with us in his carrier. Victor’s dad said when we were getting ready to leave, “I always thought my son would have a dog like a rottweiler, not a rodent as a pet.” 

I could tell his dad’s comment bothered him. Victor loves Calcifer.

Those little comments are one of the reasons I keep my distance. I feel like Victor is my family, and that’s it.

My mom and Victor were my family. Now, my mom is gone. It’s still hard. I’m not crying like I did in the beginning, but I still have a lot of instances where I feel like I need my mom. 

I miss her so much.

3 thoughts on “Six Months

  1. Eden, I’m so sorry that you feel orphaned. I went through that even though I have 2 sisters and 2 sons and a husband and his family who care about me… I still have moments when I wish I could talk to my mother. When that happens I just go into the bathroom and have a chat with her. She doesn’t really answer but I can imagine what she’d say! Hugs to you ❤

    Like

  2. I am so sorry you have to hear comments like that. I deal with them myself with some of my in laws. They take their toll. I am sorry to hear how you are feeling about your mom’s loss. I will keep praying for you.

    Like

  3. 😦 I’m so sorry you have to put up with that attitude and those comments. 😦 That is not right at all.
    Just keep taking one day at a time. And I think “talking” to the person we lost is helpful…take a walk, or go into a room by yourself, and say all the things you want or need to say to them.
    Then spend some time thinking about what their responses might be. I hope the things your mom said to you, during your life, will come to your mind be helpful to you.

    I saw a quote recently that I wanted to share with you. I was helpful to me and I hope it will be helpful to you, too.

    “Grief, I’ve learned, is really just love. It’s all the love you want to give, but cannot. All that unspent love gathers up in the corners of your eyes, the lump in your throat, and in that hollow part of your chest. Grief is just love with no place to go.”
    – Jamie Anderson

    Grief can be so painful and harsh, but is what will ultimately help us heal.
    Give yourself time and space to deal with your feelings…your feelings are so important. Share them with others as you feel you can. Remember: We care about you here.
    (((HUGS))) and ❤️

    Like

Leave a comment