Five Months

Sunday was five months since my mom passed away. Some days are better than others, but there is always an underlying sadness.

I cried Sunday night, and I had trouble falling asleep.

But I had a dream with my mom in it. I’m not sure what the dream even means. In the dream, I was working with a guy from a prison on a program. It had to do with grief, but he also wanted me to help him catch a killer.

He set me and two other people up at a hotel where he knew the guy would be robbing. The guy was coming into the rooms through the vents. He was small and able to fit. Somehow, I, or one of the other two, was supposed to stop him. 

My mom showed up before the killer was supposed to strike. She was in my room, and she had a weapon, and so did I. We were able to see him enter the rooms of the other two people. I guess we had a monitor in our room. 

The other two people couldn’t fight him off, and they were killed. My room was next. Me and my mom were ready. But at the last minute, the guy left the hotel and ran off with a large backpack filled with items he had stolen from the other two rooms.

Me and my mom looked at each other, and then I woke up. 

What was the meaning? Is it my mom that will always be there, even if it’s just in spirit? Is it that she will always protect me?

I don’t know. I miss her. I still need her guidance and advice. I’m still learning to navigate life without her.

3 thoughts on “Five Months

  1. Hi Eden! I love that you had such a clear dream about your mother. It seems that she is telling you that she’s with you even in times of danger or trouble. Dreams like that are like a hug. It has been so long since I’ve dreamt about my mother but I did feel that she sat on the edge last year on her birthday while I was getting dressed! It wasn’t scary or creepy but more like she was just saying hello…

    Like

  2. I think she WILL always be with in not just one way, but so many ways…in spirit, in memories, in the things she said to you, in the things she taught you, in her love for you, in your connection to her, ETC! ❤️
    Grief is a process…keep taking one day at a time.
    (((HUGS))) ❤️❤️ and much love!
    “Grief and love are conjoined…all I can do is love her…and emulate her by living with daring and spirit and joy.” – Jandy Nelson

    Like

  3. I have dreams of my dad and grandparents at times. And our dog that died. I think when I am stressed my subconscious takes me back to easy times. But waking up after the dreams still leave me stunned. Hang in there.

    Like

Leave a comment