Seven Months

It’s been seven months since my mom passed away. I’m still having symptoms, but slowly they are going away. Grief and trauma are no joke. 

I’m still adjusting to life without my mom. I don’t know how long it’s going to take. Maybe it’s a life-long adjustment. I know she’s gone. But it’s still hard to think that this will be for the rest of my life. 

The other day, Victor was notified by the nursing home that his mom was approved for Medicaid. My mom had told me last year sometime that it would happen, that she would be approved, and we would live alone again. 

As soon as Victor told me, my first thought was that I needed to call my mom. Then, a few seconds later, I came to the realization that I couldn’t. It’s tough not being able to call my mom.

I’m still taking things one day at a time. That’s the best I can do right now.

2 thoughts on “Seven Months

  1. Grief never goes away. My dad has been gone for 20 years in June and I miss him most at moments in life. It comes back to the front of my mind then.

    For example two weeks ago my Mom, siblings, Wrangler and I took a trip together. I wish he was with us and was extra sad for a few days.

    Like

  2. Keep doing what you are doing.
    🫶❤️🙏

    Through my decades and decades (etc) of grief I have focused on being, and doing, those things that my loved ones were, and did. I’ve tried to honor their life and continue their legacy, their celebrations, their routines (one example from my mom: sitting out early in the a.m., with a cup of tea, to watch the sunrise), their volunteer work, doing some of their favorite things (like a hobby they enjoyed), etc. All of this has helped me a lot.

    (((HUGS))) ❤️❤️
    These quotes have, also, helped me…
    “Grief is never something you get over. You don’t wake up one morning and say, ‘I’ve conquered that; now I’m moving on.’ It’s something that walks beside you every day. And if you can learn how to manage it and honor the person that you miss, you can take something that is incredibly sad and have some form of positivity.” –
    Terri Irwin

    “The reality is that you will grieve forever. You will not ‘get over’ the loss of a loved one; you will adapt, learn to live with it. You will heal and you will rebuild yourself around the loss you have suffered. You will be whole again, but you will never be the same. Nor should you be the same nor would you want to.” – Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

    Like

Leave a comment